My First Criterion

For those who are unfamiliar with the Criterion Collection, it’s a company that distributes “important classic and contemporary films” to cinema aficionados. When I saw a recent 50% off sale on Criterions, I had to jump on their release of one of my favorite films: Louis Malle’s Murmur of the Heart (Le Souffle Au Coeur).

I saw this film for the first time this year, and it’s hard to say exactly why I was so drawn to it. From the way France in the early 70’s was depicted onscreen, to the depth of every character, I was enthralled in every element of this film. I’m happy to add this film to my collection, and continue to look forward to future releases from Criterion.

Leave a Reply

